Cheese lawful.

Mu' meneen Brothers and Sisters,

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)


One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

I would just like to ask a small question if i could about a hadith i was once told about by a friensd regarding cheese i am not sure if there is more than one but in that time it had something to do with halal and harm cheeses that we eat plz if you can help me with and may allah give you continous guidance for this site.

thank you


(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)




Cheese lawful

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is none worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad (saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.


Cheese is a dairy food made from the milk of cows, goats, sheep and other mammals, by coagulating the milk. This is accomplished by first acidification with a bacterial culture and then employing an enzyme, rennet (or rennet substitutes) to coagulate the milk. The precise bacteria and processing of the curds play a role in defining the texture and flavor of most cheeses. Some cheeses also feature molds, either on the outer rind, or throughout.


Sahih Muslim Hadith 5070     Narrated by Abdullah ibn Busr

Allah's Messenger (saws) came to my father and we brought to him a meal and a preparation from dates, cheese and butter. He (saws) ate out of that.


The basic ingredients which constitute the molding of normal cheese is from amongst the food which are considered lawful in Shariah.  Unless one has sufficient reason to believe that alcohol or any other unlawful ingredient has been added to the cheese, the consumption of cheese would be considered lawful for the believers to consume.


Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah’s Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me alone.  Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.


Your brother and well wisher in Islam,





Privacy  |  About Wister

Copyright © 2024 Wister All rights reserved