Can one have wine vinegar

As Salaam Aleikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.  (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)

One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:

assalamu alaikum sir, iam living in america for last two years and i have been concerned about any haram food that i have to avoid and alhamdulillah i have avoided every thing forbidden..... but recently iam browsing and found that in a hanafi fiqh you can have wine veniger because, the wine in this phase looses all its properties... if its true i want to know weather e can eat vanila extract, soy sauce and yeast..... thank you so much...... allah hafiz...

(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)

Answer:

Can one have wine vinegar

In the name of Allah, We praise Him, seek His help and ask for His forgiveness. Whoever Allah guides none can misguide, and whoever He allows to fall astray, none can guide them aright. We bear witness that there is no one worthy of worship but Allah Alone, and we bear witness that Muhammad (saws) is His slave-servant and the seal of His Messengers.

Allah says in the Holy Quran Chapter 5 Surah Maidah verses 90-91:

O you who have believed!   ‘Khamr’ (all types of intoxicants) games of chance,  idols,  and divining arrows are all abominable works of Shaitaan;  therefore,  stay (far) away from these so that you may attain success.   Indeed,  Shaitaan seeks to sow enmity and hatred among you by means of ‘khamr’ (intoxicants) and gambling,  and to prevent you from the Remembrance of Allah and from Salaah.   Will you not,  then, abstain from these things?

Sunan of Abu-Dawood Hadith 3672     Narrated by Abdullah Ibn Abbas

The Messenger of Allah (saws) said: “Every intoxicant is khamr (alcohol, wine, etc.), and every intoxicant is haraam.”

Sunan of Abu-Dawood Hadith 3679     Narrated by Aisha

I heard the Messenger of Allah (saws) say:  “Every intoxicant is haraam;  if a quantity of anything causes intoxication,  a handful of it is (also) haraam.”

Sahih Muslim Hadith 5093         Narrated by Jabir ibn Abdullah

Allah's Messenger (saws) asked his family for condiment. They (the members of his household) said: ‘We have nothing with us but vinegar.’  He (saws) asked for it, began to eat it, and then said: ‘Vinegar is a good condiment, vinegar is a good condiment.’

Al-Tirmidhi Hadith 4222   Narrated by Umm Hani

The Prophet (saws) came in to visit me and asked whether I had anything. When I replied that I had nothing but some dry bread and vinegar he said, "Produce it; a house in which there is vinegar is not devoid of condiments."

Sahih Muslim Hadith 5091         Narrated by Aisha

Allah's Messenger (saws) said: ‘The best of condiments is vinegar.’

Normal vinegar in its essence is not amongst any of the prohibited products; thus its consumption is absolutely legal and lawful for the believers.

If one adds something forbidden to any lawful product then the consumption of that product would be deemed unlawful for the believers to consume.  If even a drop of the unlawful wine is added to the lawful vinegar, then this mixture of red wine and vinegar would indeed be unlawful as food for the believers.

Sunan of Abu-Dawood Hadith 3679     Narrated by Aisha

I heard the Messenger of Allah (saws) say:  “Every intoxicant is haraam;  if a quantity of anything causes intoxication,  a handful of it is (also) haraam.”

Sahih Muslim Hadith 4891         Narrated by Anas ibn Malik

Allah's Messenger (saws) was asked about the use of ‘Khamr’ from which (a specific type of) vinegar is prepared. He (saws) said: ‘No, it is prohibited.’

The same law which applies to wine-vinegar would apply to vanilla extract, soy soyce, and yeast.....by itself these products are lawful, but if wine or any other unlawful substance is added to it, then it would be considered unlawful for the believers to consume it. 

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah’s Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

Your Brothers and well wishers in Islam,

Members of Islamhelpline

 

Copyright © 2019 Wister All rights reserved

Privacy  |  Feedback  |  About Wister  |  Volunteer Wister  |  Ask a Question  |  Widget